brain picture

Society for Philosophy
and Psychology

minding minds since 1974


The Society for Philosophy and Psychology is the premier scientific and educational organization for philosophically interested psychologists and psychologically interested philosophers in North America. The purpose of the SPP is to promote interaction between philosophers, psychologists and other cognitive scientists on issues of common concern.

The SPP held its first meeting October 24-26, 1974 at MIT. It met for a second time Spring 1976 at Cornell University. At this second meeting, conferees passed a constitution and elected officers. Jerry Fodor, then of MIT, was the first SPP president. The SPP prides itself on holding small meetings with significant interaction between participants and a highly selective review process for contributed papers.

The SPP is a IRS 501(c)(3) tax exempt charitable organization.

[More about the SPP]

Annual Meeting and Call for Papers

The 45th Annual Meeting of the Society for Philosophy and Psychology will be held July 10-13, 2019 on the campus of University of California, San Diego. More information about the conference program and submissions will be posted here when it becomes available.

Questions about the conference program should be directed to the program co-chairs, Marjorie Rhodes and Ángel Pinillos. Questions about local arrangements should be directed to the local host in charge of communication, Caren Walker. David Barner and Matthew Fulkerson are also assisting with local organizing.

[More about the meetings]


Membership in the Society for Philosophy and Psychology is open to anyone interested in joining. Annual membership dues are $60.00 per year for faculty, $40.00 for post-docs and others with limited income, and $25.00 for students. There is also a Lifetime Membership option for $600.00. Members are entitled to vote on all issues at the annual business meeting (including election of officers) and are automatically added to the SPP e-mail list servers.

[More about membership]


Each year the SPP awards three prizes at its annual meeting. Congratulations to the recent winners.

The 2018 Stanton Award, for a young scholar in philosophy or psychology who has begun making significant contributions to interdisciplinary research and has been active in SPP, was awarded to Kiley Hamlin (Psychology, University of British Columbia).

The 2018 William James Prize, for the best contributed paper by a graduate student was awarded to Adam Morris (Psychology, Harvard University) for "Judgments of actual causation approximate the effectiveness of interventions."

The 2018 Poster Prize was awarded to two posters:

Monica Burns (Psychology, Harvard Univeristy) & Felix Warneken (Psychology, University of Michigan) for "Implicit Fairness Preferences in Adults and Children."

Mariel Goddu & Alison Gopnik (Psychology, UC Berkeley) for "Young Children Rationally Use Evidence to Select Causally Relevant Variables for Intervention."

[More about prizes]

Officers and Constitution

The SPP elects officers and Executive Committee members at its annual business meeting. The President serves a one year term, and also serves as President-elect and Past President (ex officio positions on the Executive Committee) in the years before and after he or she presides. The President appoints Program Co-Chairs for the annual meeting of the year he or she presides. The Secretary-Treasurer serves a three-year term, and is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the SPP. Executive Committee members serve three-year terms, on a rotational basis. The SPP makes every reasonable effort to keep an equal number of philosophers and scientists on the Executive Committee every year, to have both a philosopher and a scientist as yearly Program Co-Chairs, and to alternate the President yearly between philosophers and scientists.

[More about officers and constitution]


The SPP welcomes inquiries about its activities. Address correspondence to the Secretary-Treasurer:

Luis Favela
University of Central Florida
Department of Philosophy
4111 Pictor Lane, Suite 220
Orlando, FL 32816-1352 USA
fax: +1 513-556-2939

Inqueries about the website and other SPP communications can be addressed to the Director of Communications:

Sydney Levine

[More contact information]

� 2007-2017 Society for Philosophy and Psychology

Adapted from DreamTemplate youtube viagra golf natural alternative to viagra gnc can get viagra uk highest dosage viagra